GeoCarta Has Moved

Feb 21, 2007

U.S. Defense Dept. Releases Geospatial Standards

The U.S. Department of Defense National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) has issued a document, "Enabling A Common Vision", which outlines the overall National System for Geospatial-Intelligence (NSG) standards baseline, Military & Aerospace Electronics reported.

In the document, the NSG has endorsed a set of key specifications known collectively as the OGC Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI) 1.0 baseline. These OGC standards include the OpenGIS Specifications for Web Feature Service (WFS), Geography Markup Language (GML), Web Map Service (WMS), Styled Layer Descriptor (SLD), Catalogue Services (CS-Web), and Filter Encoding Specification (FE). Other standards included are ISO 19115 Geographic Information - Metadata, and ISO 19119 Geographics Information - Services.

The NSG standards have a lot in common with those in use by other government agencies and civilians. That was done to allow those involved in Homeland Security to share geospatial data and knowledge other organizations.

Formed in response to September 11, the National Center for Geospatial Intelligence Standards (NCGIS) develops and coordinates geospatial standards with the Department of Defense and other intelligence agencies.

Enabling a Common Vision here.

Labels: ,